Cameron's new NHS directive

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by supermatelot, Jan 6, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Cameron has today announce plans for hourly inspections of wards to be carried out by nurses - and also patients and members of the public.N

Now I'm not a medical professional but I can still see problems with this. I think it's unwise to allow laypeople to have input into areas of work where they are unqualified. I don't consider being a patient, or potential patient as qualification for potentially influencing the workings of a hospital.
    Imagine the carnage if the government allowed us Arrsers to have input on the order of business in a sitting of parliament! I read on an almost daily basis on my local rag's website the ramblings of a few people who think they are the font of all knowledge on whatever subject they've chosen for the month to be outraged about. It's often a damn good example that supports the adage "a little knowledge is dangerous".

Jarrod, what do you think about these proposals?

Nurses to make hourly rounds under Cameron plans | Society | guardian.co.uk

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-16437393

2. It speaks volumes that,Cameron had to announce any plans for hourly inspections on wards,I can see this affecting the sales of "Take a Break" magazines in hospitals. ;-)

3. Consensus of my colleagues today is he's a ****. We haven't forgotten the Tories started this rot when they invented NHS trusts.
    How would an hourly ward round of say 30 patients work?
    These medical assessment wards were an over-spill so people weren't waiting on trolley's. It all comes down to low staffing and not enough beds. This all started with Thatcher, she cut staff, cut beds and re-organised and got rid of experienced nurses.