Camel Corps

img007.jpg
This photo's caption is: 'The march past of the British Camel Corps in Cairo 1912 (my underlining) to celebrate the King's birthday. It consisted of men from the 1st Battalion of the Suffolk Regiment, trained in the Sudan.' Mrs BM's grandfather is one of the riders, Cpl Walter Henry Thorpe 7291. Now I've been asked what engagements they would have fought in. As far as my research goes there was the Somaliland Camel Corps (Constabulary) raised in 1912 who fought at the battle of Dul Madoba and 4 expeditions to find the 'Mad Mullah' or the Imperial Camel Corps raised in 1916. Can any of you experts out there enlighten me on the Camel Corps, be it Somaliland, Imperial or British?

Can any of you experts out there enlighten me on the Camel Corps, be it Somaliland, Imperial or British?
I'm not an expert, but a few years ago I interviewed a couple (nearly) demented Somali's about their time in the Somaliland Camel Corps and even found a former British officer who was attached to them between 1941-1942. He went on to fight in Burma and received the Burma star. Unfortunuately just before I left Somalia part of the archives from Hargeisa turned up, but I couldn't have a look into them. Will dig out some stuff tonight and see if it's interesting enough to post.

Bouillabaisse

LE
Book Reviewer
Lawrence of Arabia makes reference to being sent some Indian Army infantrymen who had been trained to camels. Ghurkas, IIRC. So that would Sanai in the run up to Damascus.

My Child, you've asnwered most of your own questions... The Imperial Camel Corps has its own hostory, available from Amazon etc.

A lot of regts had camel mounted infantryman in the campaigns to relieve Khartoum, the battle of Omdurman etc.