Calling it a day, entitilement, resettlement etc.

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by liney555, Sep 9, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright people,

I am currently on leave and as such I have been giving things a lot of thought generally about life and employment. The main question I asked myself is "Can I see me being happy in this job for another 12 years?"

The answer is plain and simple.. NO I can not. I am a class one Driver/Lineman (Lance Jack).

So, I am at the stage where many choose to either call it a day or move on to pastures new, or indeed drag my heels along putting up with usual BS and on/off herrick deployments for the pending future?!! Fark that.

I am not going to be one of those bitter 40 year old with a year left of service full screws, not a chance :oops:

I am sure many people on this forum have been in a similar situation, I am not in to the scare mongoring bullshit that will no doubt get thrown at me as it simply is not true. I know lots of people who have got out and they say it is the best thing they ever did.

I am looking to be out this time next year, that means my half pension is secured - What is the going rate for that these days? Do you still get a 'lump' sum? albeit not much but at least its something...

Also with regards to resettlement, what is the deal there? How much are we entitled to these days..?

Any help on this would be really appreciated, as my unit seems a bit shy to offer this information - I mean how dare I ask, right? Or is it that retention thing again? :D

Cheers,
    Liney in despair :eek:

2. Cow

Cow LE