buying to let

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by airbornereme, Feb 29, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. evening all, im toying with the idea of buying to rent, just a flat or small house as its my first time :wink: is there anyone who can advise me on the pros and cons, from what iv hurd it sounds like a winner, the rent pays the mortgage and a bit more, they pay the bills, sounds too good to be true. cheers in advance

2. If the rent paid the mortgage everyone would be at it! I have 3 houses let out, one makes money (albeit only £150) the other two lose money BUT i'm in it for the long term. In time, the mortgages will be paid and i'll have a nice income stream! They have all increased in value since i've had them, which is nice too!
    My advice (for what it's worth) is do your homework - buy in the best area you can afford, get a decent letting agent (absolutely key that one) and most importantly buy somewhere you would be happy to live in. If you buy a craphole you won't get tenants. Buy nice and you'll get good tenants who will pay good money.
    Good luck!

3. In theory you are right mate, however there are some things to bear in mind.

1. Your existing Mortgage will affect how much you can borrow in relation to your buy to let mortgage.

2. Are you ready to be a landlord - unless you are renting to family or trusted friends you will find tenants can be a real pain in the ARRSE.

3. Buy to Let looks good in a stable and rising property market - however if the market falls you take the hit in terms of negative equity.

4. What happens if you cannot rent it out?

5. Capital gains tax.

N.B in a rising market Buy to Let looks easy - think very carefully as at the moment things are more risky.

Hope that helps

Cheers

Farmboy