Buying first set of Non-Issue boots, advise needed

Discussion in 'Military Clothing & Boots' started by Wayfarer, Feb 13, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

Provided I don't do something silly like break an ankle I will have passed off in just over 2 weeks time and finally able to buy some nice boots. I have my eyes on Lowa's of course but don't know necessarily what is right for me or what is generally considered a good boot.

I did if I'm honest want to buy second hand with plenty of tread on them as a.) They will already be broken in and b.) They are cheaper!

I saw some going on ebay reasonably priced and cheap in varying conditions but the listing said they were 'Unbranded, unlike genuine Lowa's' which put me off as surely they won't be as reliable and quality built as a genuine pair, that said I'm a complete Novice and know nothing about them really other than they are highly regarded throughout the forces.

Any advice/help is appreciated.

Thanks again.

2. Schaden

Schaden LE Book Reviewer

How much do you want to spend and where will you be wearing them and what will you be doing while you're wearing them?
  3. Don't bother buying gucci boots until at your unit. Even then, they may not be happy with you wearing them.

It's called a "uniform" for a reason.
  4. Hi Schaden,

Thanks for speedy reply. I don't really have a limit on how much to spend as I see it as an investment over time, as for where, only here in the UK so temperate environment, I won't be doing any excessive tabbing like the specials or infantry lads as I am in the signals but do foresee a few trips over Brecon to do some map reading with my friend who is an ex-reg and ex-special so I'd imagine he will drag me through my paces. Just a general purpose boot I'd imagine.