Discussion in 'Sappers' started by swordman, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. What I find very disturbing is the bullying that "appears" to be taking place in the army recruit Training.
    During the war, men had to be prepared, and trained for the worst that the Nazi regime could inflict on them.
    The army discipline was there, and everyone had to toe the line, (In everything they did)
    At no time, did I ever witness bullying of any form, or indeed, anything other than proper training and discipline.

That Sapper training was at time rigorous, and with strict disciplin.... goes without saying.....But Bullying? NO Never
    So why, if it is not necessary in war time? could it be construed as necessary in peacetime.

I would add, that I have no first hand knowledge of any bullying. Only what I hear, and see on the TV.
    Views Please?
  2. Bullying is about trying to cow, intimidate and reduce people. Preparing people is all about making them self-confident, bold and aggressive. People bully not because they have a well-conceived idea of how to promote a good outcome but because they like bullying.
  3. Very well put. Far better than my posting. Thank you for that.....
    And something I agree with completely. The bravest Sapper NCO I ever knew, never ever resorted to anything but decent behaviour. and was respected by all ranks for it.

It does seem such a shame if bullying does go on. It achieves nothing. It seems to me that it has no place in today's army. It would be interesting to learn how the modern Sapper recruits see their training
  4. ugly

ugly LE Moderator