British Veterans Recognition Card

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by ShoghunUK, Apr 3, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I don't often post, but read with interest, however, this a certain site has me a tad annoyed.

Not sure if anyone has seen this site or commented on it before (been away for a while), but they offer British Veterans an ID card (not for free) in order that they can be recognised. As an added bonus, if you get the card, you are entitled to discounts from various companies.

I am soon to be a 'veteran', having done 22 years, although I have VEng, I think I will be medically discharged due to injury (med board is this month :cry: ). As a veteran, I am entitled to a veterans badge, from the MOD, free of charge. I don't need to prove that I was in the Forces, as the MOD knows.

This site asks for written proof.

We all know that there are probably more walters out there then serving members, and anyone can fake documents with a pc and printer. So, in all probability, there are people out there, using this card, who have never served.

Why should this bother me?

It bothers me as there are legitimate veterans out there who may be entitled to discounts, yet won't receive them as they haven't bought this card. I know that Virgin Atlantic recognise the card, but not the badge.

Not only that, there is someone out there who is profiting from selling these cards and possibly earning a fee from companies for which this card enables discounts! I could be wrong (still investigating it), so if anyone knows better, please educate me.

Ok, its a bit of a rant, and I apologise. Basically, if anyone has any information about this card or has even got one, I would be interested in your comments/views/b0ll0ckings for being an idiot.