British Legion branch in trouble.

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by PE4rocks, Oct 31, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Looks like the Legion in Birkenhead could do with a hand from any in the area.

2. Also heard the RNA(Royal Navy Association) in Childwall, Liverpool is also to close in January. There's been a Bags ball there on a friday night for years, fantastic place for copping off with the Hyton ladies.

3. It only has one active member? Wow.
  4. Come on you wooly backs get it sorted.
    I live across the water so it's a bit far.
  5. When I was a student in London I joined the British Legion in Kilburn.
    It was full of walts wearing "Committee' badges.

A classic moment was when I got talking to a 'Committee' member at the bar and I asked him who he served with and he said "The Paras"(Surprise, surprise).
    So I told him I was ex 1 Para and he said "I know" tapping his nose.

It was only later I realised I had just been initiated into a 'walts club' and was on the border of being accepted into said group of saddos.

When they found out I really had been in the army I was ostracised.

I went there twice.
  6. Birkenhead was formed in July 1921 but it was not the first branch.

The Royal British Legion Paris Branch holds the distinction of being the very first Branch of the organisation, its articles dating from 14 May 1921 which actually pre-dates the official establishment of the RBL.

Hope Birkenhead gets the support.
  7. Here's another first. According to the Ypres League, the RBL branch in Ypres was a continuation of the Ypres League, so arguably the original RBL. Here you go:
  8. Okay, I live on the Wirral of which Birkenhead is a part. When I became a civvy in 1978, I joined my local branch at Moreton.