British army personnel and higher education - research

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by Kim Webb, Oct 18, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    I'm not sure if I'm in the right place here, but I am a PhD student trying to find British army personnel who have studied at higher education in the UK. I am looking for individuals who may have studied some time in the past, more recently or studying now. They may be full or part time students. Basically, I would like to know if their experiences have been good, bad or just plain indifferent!

Very little is known about this group of students and I hope that the findings of my research will mean that future students who have served with the British army will be able to make the very most of their time in higher education.

If anyone can help with the above please get in touch with me - many thanks!
  2. What is your thesis?
  3. DSPS(A) sponsor a cohort each year to Southampton Solent University to do a degree and a Masters in Business Administration. I completed the first year of the Masters but out of 12 starters, only 2 of us were eligable to start the following year. Needless to say that when we were offered distance learning only for the second year it died a death. During the first year we attended 4 x weekend session which provided good motivaiton.

I was the first intake to go through with Solent. Since then they have tweaked the programme and the delivery. I would recommend either a phonecall to the Uni or to DSPS(A) for the background / numbers in the programme