Bring back National service....a quick fix, It's called DISCIPLINE

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by wolfstalker01, Apr 5, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I would really LOVE National service to be brought back in. It would utilize all the moth-balled kit, bases etc & teach a missing value: discipline, respect & self-reliance. none of this 'I broke a nail so I'm suing your arse' or racial abuse. It's surprising how quickly your world-view changes when you have to muck in with a group of 'newbies' for a few weeks.

2. Terrible, terrible idea.

As a professional soldier I feel there are enough idiots serving who volunteered to join up. And lots of them do really bad jobs because they actually can't be bothered and want to get out. Imagine the problems we'd have with a bunch of no-hopers who are only in uniform because they were forced into it? It'd be a bloody nightmare. Discipline (and it's poor enough as it is) would descend into farce.

Unthinkable.

• Like Like x 14
  3. It'd be worse than working with the TA.

• Like Like x 1
  4. This is the worst idea since the last worst idea and possibly the one before that too....
    The army doesnt need assorted chavs, kyleites, and pikeys dragging the already overstreched resources down even futher

By all mean establish a parallel army, using retired NCO's and Disused Barracks plus whatever obsolete kit we havent flogged on E-Gov-Bay, but keep it seperate from the Regular and Territorial Army

5. Gone are the day's of the BAOR when you just needed blokes to sit in trenches and hold back Ivan for 24hrs or to sit in a listening station wanking your self to death. We can't afford a professional army now let alone press ganging thousands of can't be arssed youths.

• Like Like x 1