Brand new military fiction - The 65th by Peter Chapman

Discussion in 'The Book Club' started by PinstripePete, Jul 14, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. A new military novel has recently been released, called 'The 65th' by Peter Chapman.

It's a story set in the very near-future, about a maverick regiment of the British Army - The 65th Regiment Royal Horse Artillery. I'm not going to harp on too much about it here; see for yourself what other readers think of it on Amazon:

Check out my website too:

I'm an ex-gunner officer, now a schoolteacher in Devon, who'd welcome any support for this venture. Despite being signed by an literary agent, I have decided to go it alone and self-publish - in the vain hope that sales of the book will some way to securing a new publishing deal!

2. The only feedback I'm able to give is this:

If you're going to try and bluff that loads of people have read your book and think it's the dog's conkers, get your "friends" who've "written the reviews" to lie about where they're from. Apparently this book is big in Devon. And the fact that the only other reviews "the six of them" have written are 2 comments from Kath on PC cables doesn't make it particularly believable...

Other than that, good luck.
  3. Kath is right - the cover is awful 8)

Still, good luck, especially getting a readership outside the land of the Dumnonii :wink:
  4. Having read the free chapter, i will say just two words....Good Luck.
  5. I once decided to try my hand at carving a career out of becoming a screenwriter and through no lack of trying was unable to ever get signed up by an agent

So far you've outdid me in a writing career which is probably little consolation but well done anyway sir
  6. Ouch! Cynical, but worth exploring ...