Boots cold weather? What are they?

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by bibo_boy, Mar 30, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Please no pics of big furry fashion boots, or comments about wellys etc.!!! :lol

I guess they are Pro boots? Or are they Lows's?
  2. Here you go mate - this is a pic of the initial trial boots given to DPA by Britton:

Clearly they are now black.
  3. Oh a-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l y'go:

4. More work on the uppers!
  5. Are you fcuking kidding - I'm an officer! :D
  6. So old style pro boots then?

Or are they Matterhorns? :?
  7. At the risk of being sucked into possibly the most boring thread ever*, what you know as 'Pro Boots' are in fact 'Boots Extreme Cold Weather'.

However, when they were originally procured, the MoD would only front the cash for the ongoing IFOR mission (and even then, they were a one-time single issue piece of kit). Therefore, when we continued to send chaps to the Balkans (in extreme cold weather), the MoD needed to urgently procure (through a UOR) a suitable boot - in this case, the 'Matterhorn'.

However, the 'Pro Boot' is widely regarded as being far better, and so 'new money' was sourced to procure more.

This is why you see people with both styles, and in many cases, several sets of each.

*It's all relative - the benefit of a thread like this is that it doesn't get over-run by attention whores. :D
  8. They look similar to US Army "Fort Lewis" boots. By Danner I think.
  9. no batman? :p

Should they even be polished? Many new style factory leather treatments are defeated when old style wax polish is applied.
  10. Quick answer - no, they shouldn't. They are issued with a nifty tin of special oil (which looks suspiciously like wax!)