Books like Red Storm Rising/Bear and the Tiger etc.

#1
As the title says does anybody no any authors who have written books on a similar theme to the title... Need a new book for work tonight.
 

Grumblegrunt

LE
Book Reviewer
#2
vortex larry bond.
 
#3
Arclight - Eric L. Harry.
 
#4
Cheers Grumble.. I'll have a look now.
 
#6
Team Yankee by Harold Coyle.

Tank warfare with the Warsaw Pact in Northern Europe.

(Look out for the part where the families being evacuted get straffed at Ramstein).
 

Grumblegrunt

LE
Book Reviewer
#7
harold coyle does some good reads and I forget the name but tom berenson I think which is pilots and stuff in nam rolling thunder was the first then he added to the series.

I've been doing the napoleonic hornblower type stuff lately, on the last of the bolitho series at the mo which is alexander kent.doug reeman, dewey lambdin does them rather well.

if you do ebooks and torrents then you're well away. I've got a kindle but got used to the laptop.
 
#10
Somebody said to me that Patrick O'Brian is the Tom Clancy of the square rigged world.
I did read Master and Commander and enjoyed it very much. I licked the illustration in the prologue that explained the names of all the sails etc, very useful.
 
#11
#12
Ps Gumble, I read a ship must die, by Freeman about 10 years ago and had completely forgot about him. I found a lot of books online there... I think there's about 9000 books in the file. There's a few Larry Bond books in it. Cheers.

Ps. I was reading W E B Griffon last night and his books are so hard to get into.
 

old_fat_and_hairy

LE
Book Reviewer
Reviews Editor
#14
Ps Gumble, I read a ship must die, by Freeman about 10 years ago and had completely forgot about him. I found a lot of books online there... I think there's about 9000 books in the file. There's a few Larry Bond books in it. Cheers.

Ps. I was reading W E B Griffon last night and his books are so hard to get into.
What site are you talking about? With all the books in a file? I'd like to take a look
 
#15
What site are you talking about? With all the books in a file? I'd like to take a look
Its a dead torrent by the look of it, it stopped at 52%, when I left for work last night... I'll have a look when I get home and if it starts downloading again, I'll give you the link.
 
#16
Some of Dale Brown's novels might fit the bill. There was also a series of three books starting with World War 2.0, can't remember the author though.
 

Grumblegrunt

LE
Book Reviewer
#17
a google for ebooks torrent will come up with a few massive files. install the software for each type of book or convert them using calibre. another search for kindle will also come up with a huge lump of all the 5 star amazon books.

years ago before kindle, mobi and epub microsofts .lit files were good. even html books are readable once you settle down. converting doesnt allways make a readable book in the new format so some adjustment might be necessary to get over the fact that the text is riddled with odd numbers and headers.
 
#18
Some of Dale Brown's novels might fit the bill. There was also a series of three books starting with World War 2.0, can't remember the author though.
Is Dale Brown the authour who writes about Dreamland and the modified bombers?
 

Grumblegrunt

LE
Book Reviewer
#19
Its a dead torrent by the look of it, it stopped at 52%, when I left for work last night... I'll have a look when I get home and if it starts downloading again, I'll give you the link.
if you re google the file name you should be able to find it on other sites and add the headers from it.
 
#20
Its a .lit file. Something like 30gb of data to download.
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
duggan123 RAC 57
clownfish Army Pay, Claims & JPA 10
dogmonkey The Book Club 222

Similar threads

New Posts

Top