Bolognese Recipie

crazy_chester

Old-Salt
Has anyone got a good recipie / walkthrough from scratch for bolognese sauce? I am progressing with cookery and am largely self taught and would like to move away from jars of ragu or dolmio.

Mates, who are more experienced than me, tell me that it is fairly easy to do a good bolgnese from scratch. The wife is a bit of a mushroom fan, and I try and incorporate them into a spag bol. I also add a splash of red, worcester sauce and black pepper. I used to add chopped red pepper but have been advised this is not ideal. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

The_Snail

ADC
RIP
Right

My way you chop everything up at the start so you have it all ready

1 large onion chopped very small 3mm bits , look up how to chop a onion video , easy
1or 2 sticks of celery , chopped very fine smaller than the onion

I carrot , again really small

All that goes in the pan low for 15-20 minutes to soften without colouring , its called a mirepoix in french , the basis of all stocks, stews etc . It build flavour .

Next chop up some mushrooms , big field ones have more flavour than button ones , again as small as possible

Chop up a good few garlic cloves or mince , i would use about the same size as two oxo cubes worth

Get some red wine ready , about a large glass .

When the veg is done take out and put in the beef mince or beef and pork mince , sometimes i put a bit of very finely chopped bacon in .
Brown that untill the meat is no longer red . Drain the fat off and add the garlic and musrooms , cook for 1-2 minutes then add the veg back .

cook for a few more minutes so the mushrooms start to cook down , then add the wine , and a can off good tomatoes and a dollop of tomatoe puree and a pinch of oregano .

Then simmer for as long as possible , , if you can dump it in a slow cooker for a few hours , if not a hour at least simmering on the hob .

Not written very well but im half cut .