Boarding school allowance for deceased soldiers children

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by cav_sig, Apr 25, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This is my first addition to a forum so forgive me if i havnt done this correctly. I am a recent widow with 2 young children and am enquiring about boarding school allowance for thier future. I have heard several answers as to weather i am still entitled to it and want to know if anybody has any experience in this matter and can answer more clearly.
  2. Sorry to hear of your loss mate and while I am not an expert I do claim the allowance. It is to ensure continuity of education for children as a result of a soldier's frequent movements necessitating a number of schools.

Normal qualifying criteria are that at least you should relocate your family upon posting (ie not leave them tied to one area) and therefore, with no further movements pending I do not think you would qualify.

If however your child(ren) are already in boarding school then there may be a potential for arguing that to remove them would upset that continuity...... but I wouldn't be too optimistic.

3. Sorry to hear about you sad loss.

With regards to the allowances, maybe you should contact BAFF, or the RBL.

I'm sure they will be able to assist you if the MoD refuse to carry on with the payments - maybe by argueing you case, or maybe even assisting financially (the RBL).

Good luck with everything.
  4. Thanks, your answers go with some of the things i have been told. My children are still very young so were not registered to any school yet but it is dissapointing as we had decided along time ago that boarding school was what we wanted for them. thanks anyway.
  5. Your CVO should be your first point of contact. - extract from JSP 752: