Blacksmithing, forging, knifemaking and all other metal work

For those of us who enjoy bashing steel, working on a lathe or a mill, or do their own welding, to post their results.
As for me, I'm a trained mechanic and machinist and set up my own metal shop in a former barn. A while ago I built my own forge and started manufacturing things.
So a while ago I made a bunch of handforged nails for a mate, who is restoring a century old beam and wattle house. Some of the original structure will be visible and he asked me to make him some traditionally forged nails (fairly large, the long one is about 5" long), to use where they will be visible.

Nails.jpg

Recently I also started making knives from old automotive helical springs a neighbour, who likes fixing cars, gave to me. The one with the wooden handle was my first attempt. I straightened one of the springs using the forge and then hammered a blade blank out of it, which I then ground to shape using a belt grinder and a selection of grinding whels. The handle was made from a piece of cedar wood I still had at home and a piece of brass.

DSC_0948 (800x530).jpg

DSC_0949 (530x800).jpg

The second knife was forged out of a single piece of spring steel. I had to draw out the material of the handle to reduce it's diametre before bending it to shape and then fine shaping the blade again on the belt grinder and various grinding wheels.
In both cases I built and improvised tempering furnace out of some fire bricks and brought the ground blades to bright red heat, using a gas burner, before hardening them in oil and then tempering them at 250 centigrades (pale straw colour) in my kitchen oven. After the knives have been completed, I ground them to their final shape and sharpened them.

The coal forge I built myself. I bought the tuyere and fire pan on eBay and welded the frame out of angle irons. The fan I bought in a hardware shop in the Philippines. The anvil I bought as a bargain on eBay.