Black Powder Revolvers - Starting up

I left the TA last year, and whilst I don't miss most of it, the all too occasional range day was something I knew I'd still have a hankering for. So I joined my local shooting club, and for the last 8 months have enjoyed rifle shooting, both .22 and full bore. In the past few weeks I've started playing around with black powder revolvers. Prior to this I had not been interested as I've had a lot of experience shooting "real" pistols in the mob, and felt that muzzle loading / cap and ball would be a poor substitute for playing with automatics. How wrong I was! At long last, I've found a shooting discipline that (a) I've never really done before, and (b) is sufficiently complex to keep my interest. The whole process of reloading etc really flicks my switch, and the pleasure of producing a decent grouping with 150 year old technology is not to be underrated! (I'm not interested in the chamber loading modern designs with sights on, I prefer the older looking cap and ball kit - at the moment).

Up until now I've been shooting a Ruger Old Army .44" which is a club gun, but I'd like to get my own. I've been asking the old and bold in the club about what to get as a first pistol, but the messages have been mixed, and sometimes patently bollocks. Funds being limited for shooting (I want to get a .22" and a 308" / 303" rifle as well), I have looked around the lower end of the pistol market on GunTrader, Gunstar and the like, and there appear to be a fair few Uberti and other revolvers which are between £80 and £250. Considering the ancillary loading kit I'll also need to buy, this is my preferred price range, but I am curious to others' experience of the cheap and cheerful end of the gun market. As an experienced Armourer, I'm not worried by buying a fixer-upper, I just don't fancy blowing my fingers off.

What do The ARRSE shooters recommend?

I'd get a Rogers & Spencer or a Remington 1858 repro. None of these Ruger fakety fake things.