Bit of training advice required.

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by syguy, Oct 2, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I've been training since May 2011 to join the infantry and could do with a few pointers on my training if people could spare a few mins.

Background / Health Info

I just turned 31 mid september and I am currently 17 stone (have lost 5.5 stone since May 2011 - yes I was a fat cnut but hard work, good diet and motivation to succeed is working quite well), I wanted to join the army for years but kids, complaceny and a lack of self motivation meant that I never carried it out, May 2011 I decided that I didn't like my current career and that I had to take charge, sort myself out and have a crack at it before I got too old and spent the next 40 years or so regretting what I could have done.

I am exercising about 4 times per week (schedule listed below). My diet consists of low fat, low carb, high protein (mainly chicken, tuna, wholegrains, tons of veg and plenty of water - no alcohol, fizzy pop, quit cigs 6 months ago, no chocolate/fastfood - you get the idea).

Weekly Workout Schedule

Mon: Rest
    Tue: 1 Hour Circuit Training (Core, Pressups, Situps, Padwork, TRX etc)
    Wed: 20 Mins HIIT - 60/60 6kph - 13kph, 30 Mins Cycling
    Thur: 1 Hour Circuit Training (Core, Pressups, Situps, Padwork, TRX etc)
    Fri: Rest
    Sat: 5K Run (AM) - 1 Hour Circuit Training/Pad Work (PM)
    Sun: Rest

My running is coming along reasonably well considering I couldn't do shit before and I can now run 5K (currently running it in about 32mins - yes heffer speed but it's getting better)

I do a weights sessions every other week instead of one of the circuit sessions (maybe this needs increasing?)

Things i am struggling with