Biological agents

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Trans-sane, Dec 2, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Trans-sane

Trans-sane LE Book Reviewer

This is something that has been floating around in my head for more than a decade now, ever since I was a not-so-spotty undergrad. Why hasn't a group (state or non-state actors) attempted to carry out a biological attack, not on people but on crops/livestock?

The Green Revolution has been estimated to have saved a billion people from starvation by increasing crop yields. And widely regarded as the single most important development was the breeding of a strain of wheat with extremely high resistance to wheat rust fungus. but even with such resistance yield losses of 5-20% are considered normal, and losses of upto 50% have been recorded. And now there are strains for rust fungus that have arrisen in Africa in the last decade or so that have been migrating eastwards and may already have reached the Punjab (last source I read was about two years ago and suggested as the rust strains had reached eastern Iran then it was inevitable that the Punjab would be affected soon).

Rice blast is another scourge of staple crops and it is estimated that the lost yield to it could feed 60 million people for a year. But there are thousands of individual diseases and millions of strains all of which affect farming.