• ARRSE have partnered with Armadillo Merino to bring you an ARRSE exclusive, generous discount offer on their full price range.
    To keep you warm with the best of Merino gear, visit www.armadillomerino.co.uk and use the code: NEWARRSE40 at the checkout to get 40% off!
    This superb deal has been generously offered to us by Armadillo Merino and is valid until midnight on the the 28th of February.

Bikers, farmers and mud on road

So im pretty new to the world of biking. Since being on 2 wheels i've really started to notice the amount of s*ite on the road and especially mud left by farmers :x

A few times to say the least i've been out in the country and come round a corner only to find a huge pile of muck trailing from a field on OUR tarmack, and had to swerve (did the old test, not the new one with the swerve part, so not very good at it!).

Is there not a law against this??

Get on to your local County or Metropolitan Borough Council with details. Farmer Palmer has a duty to take "reasonable care" and that does not just consist of a "mud on road" sign in felt tip on cardboard 2m before the shite. If you do bin and bend it your insurance company should be able to pursue a claim if the Gentleman Squire was negligent. Alternatively, get a KTM and enjoy the challenge.

franklin said:
So im pretty new to the world of biking. Since being on 2 wheels i've really started to notice the amount of s*ite on the road and especially mud left by farmers :x

A few times to say the least i've been out in the country and come round a corner only to find a huge pile of muck trailing from a field on OUR tarmack, and had to swerve (did the old test, not the new one with the swerve part, so not very good at it!).

Is there not a law against this??
Fckin townies- I sh1t 'em. How else are farmers going to get bikers to slide on to their bail forks?

Mud on road must be signed by the farmer.

I came off my SV after he had cut the grass verge / hedge thing. Denied it was him.