Bikers, farmers and mud on road

Discussion in 'Cars, Bikes 'n AFVs' started by franklin, Jul 12, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. So im pretty new to the world of biking. Since being on 2 wheels i've really started to notice the amount of s*ite on the road and especially mud left by farmers :x

A few times to say the least i've been out in the country and come round a corner only to find a huge pile of muck trailing from a field on OUR tarmack, and had to swerve (did the old test, not the new one with the swerve part, so not very good at it!).

Is there not a law against this??
  2. Get on to your local County or Metropolitan Borough Council with details. Farmer Palmer has a duty to take "reasonable care" and that does not just consist of a "mud on road" sign in felt tip on cardboard 2m before the shite. If you do bin and bend it your insurance company should be able to pursue a claim if the Gentleman Squire was negligent. Alternatively, get a KTM and enjoy the challenge.
  3. Gremlin

Gremlin LE Good Egg (charities)

Or alternatively, how about riding within your capabilities and therefore safely?

It's the countryside; if you don't like it, don't go there.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Fckin townies- I sh1t 'em. How else are farmers going to get bikers to slide on to their bail forks?
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Mud on road must be signed by the farmer.

I came off my SV after he had cut the grass verge / hedge thing. Denied it was him.

6. They can write?
  7. Guys I rode for many years and the first thing i would impart is :

"Expect the unexpected".

Round the next bend could be a broken down car, combine harvester, tractor, pedestrians, a group of cyclists, etc etc.

Don't moan about mud on the road you are in the countryside - expect it. Ride to the conditions and environment.