Being Headhunted.

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by Issi, May 29, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys,

Can I ask for some advice regarding moving jobs?

I'm a Building Surveyor (not Chartered) and I work for a very small company mostly carrying out domestic surveys for Insurance claims.

I was approached last night at a local do, by a chap who is a Director of one of the biggest Surveying companies in the UK, I've known him vaguely for years as he was in my older brothers year in school.

Anyway, he asked me if I was still Building Surveying, as he was looking for a new Building Surveyor to join his company, he's given me his card and asked me to phone him on Tuesday to discuss a possible position in his firm.

I mentioned that I was not RICS qualified and he stated that they would be able to sort this out as he employs RICS assessors within his team.

My query is - Do I go for it and give him a call with the possibility of being offered a job in a very prestigous company or do I just forget about and continue trundling along nicely with my present firm.
    My main concern is that he'd had a couple of pints and I don't want to get my hopes up for Tuesday to find that e'd forgotten that we even had the conversation.

Any thoughts?
  2. the_boy_syrup

the_boy_syrup LE Book Reviewer

Give him a ring
    If he says he was pissed and can't remember then you are no worse off
    If he offers you a position you can always knock him back
    At least you'll know it's better than wondering what if and you'l be no worse off
  3. It's a good opportunity to talk your way into a large pay rise and other perks, if you get too cheeky you've not lost anything because you still have your job.
  4. You only live once mate. Give it a whirl, you've nowt to lose. Best of luck with it.