Becoming Infantry Platoon Commander

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by taelong1, Aug 4, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a university student (studying Sociology), just about to start my second year. Recently I have done some research and am quite interested in becoming a infantry platoon commander.

Therefore I was wondering if anyone could answer a few questions I have,

Is there alot of competition to get this position??

Are my chances of acceptance increased for doing a degree course before hand??

What else can I do on the outside world to improve my chances of acceptance?? Apart from regular excercise (Im quite confident I can achieve the correct level of fitness).

Any other information I may find useful will be much appreciated, along with any example of specifics of the job..

Forgive me if this sort of information is readily available, I have searched quite a few sites as well as ordering a DVD pack from the army website with extra info.

2. Get down to your local carears office. They will give you all the info you need.

3. What he said, they will really help you, just get down there as soon as possible, ive been researching and trying to find this and that about the army i went to a army careers office and i got all the information i needed and more. its really easy, theyll answer anything you want to know.

4. There is quite a bit of competition for the places - probably one of the more popular places to commission to.

Most others will have degrees so it probably will not make that much of difference.

In terms of stuff you can do to prepare - go travelling, play sport, go drinking.