becoming an RCO

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by Sierra_Hotel, Dec 20, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I am looking for advice as to the best way of becoming a qualified RCO on military ranges, provided I meet the criteria.

I am currently an Officer Cadet in a UAS, and would like to become an RCO so that I can try and get more shooting running within our own organisation and with the other equivalent services. I do have considerable shooting experience with both military and civilian weapons over the last five years in and out of CCF. Would I qualify to become a range officer as an OC in the UAS? (I have a form 90 and service number etc, so should hold full reservist status, but no one on sqn seems to know much about shooting)

If anyone could point me in the right direction it would be superb!

Many thanks, and Merry Christmas,

2. UAS? And how old are you?
  3. Office Cadets can not hold Range Quals
  4. University Air Squadron. RAF equivalent to the OTC.

Not entirely true. S-H may not be able to hold a military RCO ticket in the capacity of an Officer cadet, but there's nothing to stop them privately getting an NSRA RCO certificate to conduct .22 ranges or an NRA ticket for fullbore.
    They just won't be able to conduct military shooting without the Miltary approval.

S-H, depending on how your unit is structured, and the facilities you intend to use (unit's own firearms on a military range, or buy a block-membership to a local civvy club, use their club guns on their range), you may be able to go the Civvy route.