Becoming an Electrician in the Royal Engineers

Hi All,

Im looking for some advice, I’m joining the RE as an Electrician, I was wondering would I gain sufficient experience in my army career if I was to leave, I could potentially work as an Electrical Engineer/Electrical Technician. I already went to college and got my NVQ Dip in Engineering and BTEC in Engineering.

Or

Would you recommend going for a different job role perhaps in the Royal Signals, apparently going in the Royal Engineers is fine as I would gain all aspects of electrical work with experience?

Hi All,

Im looking for some advice, I’m joining the RE as an Electrician, I was wondering would I gain sufficient experience in my army career if I was to leave, I could potentially work as an Electrical Engineer/Electrical Technician. I already went to college and got my NVQ Dip in Engineering and BTEC in Engineering.

Or

Would you recommend going for a different job role perhaps in the Royal Signals, apparently going in the Royal Engineers is fine as I would gain all aspects of electrical work with experience?

As a JIB App registered civvie sparkie, before taking the queens shilling, and a sparkie in the Royal signals, and resuming my sparkie career for a further 36 years on discharge, Army electricians are mainly concerned with mobile power, both in the R/Sigs And the RE's You will not in any way utilise army experience as a civvie electrician, you will not need or want civilian knowledge either in installation, containment types, first or second fix, or have to work out diversity factors of a given installation, work from installation schematics, or any aspect of electrical maintenance, In factory's or domestic environments.

Your only and main function is to drive to location, and provide mobile power, that's it, with a few minor associated jobs on the side.