BBC researcher ???

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by armourer, Feb 6, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Got this pm from:

mclagan

"Hi,

I am a researcher for the BBC's current affairs department - currently researching a programme which will explore the problems faced by servicemen and women leaving the military. We will be focusing the program on the issue of homelessness among ex-servicemen, and hope to shed light on the paths which lead to this fate.

I recently worked on a film for Newsnight (which went out the night before the US elections, ) which focused upon homeless Vietnam war veterans living on the streets of San Diego California - under the nose of the USA's biggest naval port. The interviews we did at the time uncovered a wide prevalence of not only Vietnam, but Korean, Gulf War and now - 2nd Gulf War veterans who have also slipped through the net for a variety of reasons, one of the most prominent of which is PTSD.
    Much of what I found out for this film was shocking, but it made me also keen to investigate the situation for war veterans in my own country, especially because at the time of working on the Newsnight - the reaction of most people I told about the program here was 'Thank goodness that in Britain we have more respect for those who have served in the military!'

This program would aim to focus on what moves could be taken to ensure that troops returning from the Middle East over the next few years receive proper standards of training and care before, during and after their placements abroad to prevent PTSD and the social alienation many individuals feel upon return.

I have been looking into past posts on this website, and found your own.