BBC iPlayer - Licence fee for PCs?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Steven, Jul 30, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. So the BBC have finally launched their iPlayer

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/6916164.stm

How long before you have to pay a licence fee for all Inet capable PCs?

This idea has already been suggested in Germany (not sure if it is going ahead or not), so I reckon it won't take long before all PCs will need a licence.

2. oldbaldy

oldbaldy LE Moderator Good Egg (charities)
    1. Battlefield Tours

Has anyone got it yet?

3. I've been using the beta for a couple of months. It's ok, You can download a selelction of programmes from the website up to seven days after they have been shown on the telly.

Personally I think the article is rubbish - You tube cannot compete with this service.

4. As a Pommy in Australia I miss BBC radio and BBC news. I'd pay a small fee for limited access.

5. Can you get iPlayer from the BBC - at present it's completely free, and if it doesn't restrict by country, you'll have access to Brit TV.

6. I need broadband first. You wouldn't believe the internet here. Telstra is the Aussie BT and is 100 times more anti-competition.

It's like stepping back in time! But at least it's sunny.

:)

7. All BBC national radio channels are available on the BBC website . Haven't heard that they are restricted to UK

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/

8. Available overseas through a subscription service, I believe.

9. What about me, I pay a tv licence for 12 months but spend 6 months of the year overseas will i be expected to pay twice?

10. I signed up for the beta project last Friday and received log in details yesterday. It will be a service I will make much use of as BBC content is unrivaled anywhere in the world.