Bayonet comments for paper?

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by gradturkey, Feb 12, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, all! I'm a graduate student in Military History in the USA, and I'm writing a paper on the more recent use/disuse/lore of the bayonet in the 20th-21st century in the British Army. I'm going to combine this paper with a bunch of others for my dissertation on bayonets. I'm pretty solid on bayonet history before the 20th century, but I'd really like to hear comments from more recent experiences -- would anyone be willing to answer a few questions for me? You can post in response or send me a private message.

If you're still reading, here are the questions:

1) What do you think the current role of the bayonet is, and what's your experience of carrying (or not carrying one)?

2) Have you ever used (or seen someone else use) a bayonet in combat?

3) What did you think about the bayonet charge by the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders in Iraq last year?

4) Any general thoughts you want to share about bayonet history or current use?

5) Do I have your permission to:
    a) Paraphrase you
    b) Directly quote you (can be anonymous)
    c) Use your full name (how would you like it to appear?)
    (Even if you say no to all three, I'd be interested in your thoughts just for a general sense of your experience.)

Thanks much!
  2. The bayonet is as important now as it ever was; providing a decisive method of fighting at close quarters.

The present method for storming any enemy position is by use of suppresive fire to allow the gap to be closed, the use of a grenade or heavy weapons to neutralise the position, finally the position would be cleared of any remaining enemy by use of small arms and/or troops with bayonets attached.