Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by msr, Aug 7, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. msr

msr LE

Dear All,

Seeking advice for a fellow arrser:

I am currently a student nurse, and I have a level of student debt I am struggling to manage. I know my debt is not so bad that I couldnt deal with it if I left uni, but i really dont want to do this unless I really have to.

My question is, if i declared myself bankrupt in order to be able to complete my course, would this affect my TA career? Are we talking discharge?

Also, if I declared myself bankrupt would this effect my ability to go on ops during the period before the bankrupcy is discharged?

2. Sorry if this is of no use, but my university offers a financial support service, and if you approach them they can help sort out student dept, by giving advice and can also arrange payments, allowences etc!
    I no not really an answer to the question about the TA, but I really hope that he/she can get the help and support they need, living on a nursing bursery/loan I no is very hard!

Sorry if above is not relevent!
  3. To apply for bankruptcy you'll need to scrape together £500. You could consider an Individual Voluntary Arrangement where, through an Insolvency Practitioner you agree to pay a certain amount of pence in the pound of debt owed over a number of years. Could you not get some extra work?
  4. Student loans are not cleared by bankcruptcy .Its not an easy way out if
    you can pay your debts off you should .Shouldnt effect your liability for
    ops unless you have some sort of high security clearence I guess.Probably
    give you problems if you want a commision though
  5. Some sort of hardship fund I believe? Knew a couple of people who survived on top ups from them.