Discussion in 'Officers' started by daiO, Dec 10, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, im currently a student and i've been very interested in an Army career for a few years now. This year i joined the TA as i was unable to join the otc due to the fact that im in my final year of study. My time with the TA has made me relise that i definately want to persue a career in the Army as an officer.

I can think of a few reasons to explain why i want to be an officer. These are:

1. When i graduate i'll have a degree so i might as well go for it over being a soldier
    2. It has greater responsibility (and so greater job satisfaction?)
    3. Better pay
    4. Chance of furthering my education and therefore better job after the
    5. The idea of RMAS appeals to me as does the challenges it presents

The problem is that i am unsure as to weather anyone interviewing me would view theses as valid reasons.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.
  2. Spelling and grammer helps, Im crap at it but then Im not an officer
  3. Yeah i know but i was typing quickly!
  4. hehe, just having a larf mate, welcome to ARRSE
  5. Thanks!
  6. Your reasons for wanting to join are all in the first person singular.

Whilst the challenge and wanting to do your bit are all good reasons, I would think hard about what you can offer the Army and more importantly the soldiers you will command.

I realise some elements out there have lost the 'Serve to Lead' ethos as defined by Sandhurst; but those of us at the sharp end look for officers who take a personal interest in their soldiers and lead by example.