Assault in Line !

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by jonwilly, Jul 3, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Gents with the memories of the Somme 1 July 1916, I would like to ask a question on a pure infantry matter.
    In the 14-18 war British and "All" infantry attacked in massed line.
    By later stages some of the German infantry had gone over to the Stormtrooper attack, smaller formations useing natural cover.
    I am no expert but this seems to have been German method of Infantry assault in WW II.
    The Russians still seemed to have used the Line Assault method as did the Chinese and N.Korean troops of ealy 1950's.
    I have seen the documentry "Film" of El Alamain and watched the Brit infantry attacking in line.
    In George Macdonald Fraser's autobiography of his days in Burma 1945 (The Border Regt) he tells of assauling jap positions, in company lines of platoons.
    Even as late as the Dofar war in early 70's Brit led Omani infantry assaulted in company lines (the infamous battle for Shershitt caves).
    I have no reason to suspect that this type of assault is current practice.
    Is it ? Or when did it change ?
    john the uninformed, seeking info
  2. Extended line for the assault phase was, I believe, pretty much the thing to do until the Falklands battles demonstrated otherwise.
  3. how would you guys go about assulting a dug in enamy in a similar situation that the average tommie was faced in 1916?

no possiblty of flanking attacks very equal opposition etc
  4. flatten it with arty roll over it with tanks warrior .If we didnt have a
    superior force couldnt attck it