ASB RAMC for Medical Cadetship

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by Chavasse1917, Mar 12, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Greetings,

I am a medical student applying for a Cadetship with the Army. My interview (ASB) is next month and I am quite excited about it but also s***ing myself.

I have been doing as much research as I can about the army and speaking with as many people as possible.

Does anyone have any advice for the interview? I would be really grateful for any help at all.

Also, what has been the affect of modernising medical careers on the cadetship. Does the six year return of service coomence after Foundation year 1 or 2? What will happen to the 6 month A and E posting at the MDHU's?

Thank you, I look forward to hearing from you
  2. I completed my interview last year and passed. My advice would be to consider your answers before speaking and to prepare answers for the common quesitons e.g. what are the qualities of an officer? what do you think of British soldiers? what do you have to offer the RAMC? etc etc.

My six year return of service starts after full GMC registration which occurs after FP1. This may have changed for applicants this year, best thing to do is to ask RAMC recruiting. The Col will be more than happy to answer.

As to the A and E placement, if you chose to stay in your denary (sp sorry dyslexic) then you must have an A and E job in FP1 or FP2. My adivice is to try and get one in FP2 as you will be able to do more.

Lastly good luck and I hope to see you at the next Cadets briefing day which is a good piss up.
  3. PS - I would really like to hear from soldiers in the army and what they think of the RAMC officers (be honest). I have a few friends who were/are combat medical technicians and it has been really valuable to get their advice on how to be a good officer.