ArmyNet a serious personal security threat?

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by polar, Nov 2, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Following another thread I just tried to logon to ArmyNet.

User name and password ok but then it asked about a memorable word, which I'd forgotten, I was then asked a number of very personal questions. I entered them but I think its very wrong to be asked them over the internet. A complete lack of personnel security, which encourages people to enter the same information on other sites which leads easily to identity fraud.

If I was a IS security officer, I'd be tempted to ban the site completely to protect soldiers.

I'd put up with other questions like where was your first school (thats easy check friendsreunited web site), whats your mums maiden name (ffs .. an hacker knows my service number & blood group, then its pretty obvious you can find that on genesreunited site)

2. My understanding was that the information on ArmyNet is sensitive, but not classified, hence the ability to host on the web.

3. I'm not sure why your concerned about answering these questions on the Internet. Once you go past the initial login page of armynet, you are put into an encrypted session between your computer and armynet's server. Its extremely secure, much more secure than using a phone to your bank or buying something by email without encryption.