Army Undergraduate Bursary and UOTC

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by mcflurry, Apr 16, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'm in my final year of Sixth Form and hopefully off to university in October. I'm thinking of joining up as an Officer after uni, and I intend to join the UOTC while I'm down there. When I was on the Army site, I saw a piece about the Undergraduate Bursary. I know what it is, but not how to apply for it. Do I go through the UOTC, or do I apply to the Army now?

I've already tried going to the AFCO and the Army's Online Careers Office; the Online office told me to go to the AFCO, who had already given me a Further Education Bursary brochure instead of a Higher one.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. Try this link:

The Army Undergraduate Bursary

3. I've read that before, but thanks anyway. Is it saying I need to do the conventional application route, as if I was joining up straight away?

4. I may be a few years out of date here, however: application for a bursary (I assume they still exist) should be done through you recruiter, either the schools recruiting officer (if they still exist) or at tue AFCO. In theory you should be able to apply for one before you go to university, but they are awarded on the basis of success at AOSB, meaning to get one you need to pass it. Certainly a proportion of bursaries used to be given to students in they second or third years of study.

My advice would be to ask to be put forward for one by your recruiting officer. Just be aware that passing AOSB at 18 is quite a tall order on it's own. Added to that, in these austere times, there is naturally a lot of competition for this sort of thing. But if you definitely want to join and have the ability, go for it; it is free money!