army pension

i got married after leaving the army . is my soon to be ex wife intitled to my pension ? as i have received a letter from her solicitor asking for my pension details.
MR

I don't believe she is entitled to any part of your pension, now if she had been your wife whilst you were serving then yes and then only a percentage depending on how many years you were together whilst serving.

two kids that im paying maintenance for. i married three days after leaving army. only getting half pension anyway.

Scabster_Mooch said:
IIRC, everything is up for grabs regardless when you earned it.

Whether or not she will be awarded is another issue but its up for grabs.
A masterly summary! I am no expert on this area, but there is no doubt that pension entitlements of either or both parties are taken into account. The logic is that one spouse may have a much higher pension entitlement, and the other one would have had a reasonable expectation of in sharing in the general family benefit of that pension and perhaps eventually a widow's/widower's pension from that fund. As Scabster_Mooch hints, this doesnt necessarily mean the pension will simply be divided 50-50 between the parties; the pension and any house are often treated differently in the divorce settlement.

This from a firm of solicitors: The treatment of pensions in divorce proceedings in England. There are many similar pages on the internet.

'marts' - your own solicitor will of course advise on your particular circumstances but I hope this gives the general idea. Good luck!

I thought everything could be over turned by the GESTAPO / CSA anyhow if there are kids involved.

hackle said:
Scabster_Mooch said:
IIRC, everything is up for grabs regardless when you earned it.