Army Legal Service

Discussion in 'Officers' started by House, May 30, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. My apologies if this issue has been dealt with before; I have looked briefly but can’t find the answer to my queries (and the ALS website doesn’t seem to be working at the moment?).

I am a law student in my final year at Oxford university and am going to be doing a BVC next year and pupillage the following year. At what stage should I be looking to apply to the ALS? I am aware that there is a requirement to be qualified; but is that all, or is a period of experience also necessary after the pupillage year?

PS – Although I have not managed to find an answer to my questions I have found a lot of comments about why a person should / should not join the ALS. Although very interesting that is really not my enquiry here.

Any other info on the ALS would also be very much appreciated though – where they are based, structure etc.

2. Have you spoken to your University Liaison Officer? He could give you all this gen, plus information about AOSB, AOSB briefing etc etc.

Are you only just thinking about this a matter of days before your finals (or possibly even after your last exam)? If so, you might wish to prepare an answer to questions about why you want to join the army, how long this has been your career plan, what planning and preparation you have done etc. Or in other words, is this something you really want to do and are committed to, or have you been turned down for other avenues and just feel that joining the army is a reasonable fallback option. If the latter then stand by not to succeed.
  3. oldbaldy

oldbaldy LE Moderator Good Egg (charities)
    1. Battlefield Tours

ALS Career Guide :wink: