Army Junior Doctor Training

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by Speckled_Jim, Jan 27, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm a final year medical student and in the midst of revision hell. If all goes well I will graduate this August. With the recent changes to civilian medical training (the Foundation Year programme part of Modernising Medical Careers changes) I will now have to do two years of hospital work before doing the Vicars and Tarts course.

So experienced members of the board what skills do you think I should work on over the two years to help me be a better RMO? Any specialities I should try hard to get some time in? (we now do 3x4 month placements a year) The only demand from AMD is that I do 4months in the second year in A&E.

2. I have found that it very rare to find a good Doctor who is also a good commander, those who attempt to be successful at both, usually acheive neither. It is even more unusual to find these attributes in A Doctor who is also not a complete tactical embarrassment on the ground. There are some exceptions, I myself have been very lucky to work with some excellent Doctors/commanders/soldiers, but they are very much the minority. Sadly, these are not attributes you can 'train' for, they come with experience. Aside from any medical specialities, you would probably benefit from developing people skills and getting used to LISTENINING to those who are supposedly junior to you. Your guys will work for you if you show an intrest in THEIR career development and training, especially CMTs whose professional development needs all the help it can get right now. Do you have any idea where you might like to end up working? Good luck with your final year, hope all goes well.

Right lads, that's the sensible bit. He's all yours!!