Army Bursars - 2nd Lt Rank and they havent got a clue?!

Discussion in 'OTC and ACF' started by rockapeMk2, Nov 18, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I know i am new to the whole TA thing but surely there is something wrong with the world when someone who is on a Bursary and given the rank of 2nd Lt and isnt able to pass a simple WHT correction NSP a ruddy weapon (leaving the mag on).

2. Wonder what his (her) daddy does?

3. If it's in the otc then the whole system is screwed up. Take JUO promotions for example. One fellow half kills himself training for and doing the cambrian patrol and doesn't get promoted. Whereas the fellow who takes the easy option of teaching MTQ1 gets promoted within a few weeks of the new intake. Both joined the otc at the same time, do the same MTQ2 course etc and in some cases are in the otc for much longer.

Sorry, I'm not bitter or anything. :roll:

4. JUO isnt a promotion, its an appointment, e.g. no pay rise

5. Its not just the officers, there were over 2000 of the TA who couldnt pass their WHT on Telic.
    the numbers of Regs who were unable to pass has been kept a secret as this may cause the public to lose faith in us but im sure there were 1 or 2

6. You are correct there Pensioner, JUO is usually given when an O/Cdt has taken on a staff position. So an MTQ1 Plt Cmdr or Plt Sgt would qualify you.

Doing something like Cambrian is not a staff appointment! and so does not qualify you for JUO.

7. Yea fair enough. Just seems like a bit of a rip when we're the ones who've put all the time and effort in. 210% attendance etc. Ahh well.

8. Correct me if I'm wrong but surely it's only cadetships that get the automatic 2Lt, the salary and post graduation commitment. Bursars are only expected to attend but only get the (lesser) comitment and (lesser) financial benefit.