Are we, were we, all soldiers first.

I was speaking to my son (RM not RE) who is on R&R from Afghan at the moment and he was talking about how some Spr units allowed the troops to help with Sanger duties, when some didn't. (Not at Bastion)

My question is:

Is there a reason why the lads shouldn't help out with those types of duties, especially in the situation like there is in South Helmand Province. Especially when we are, were, told that we are Soldiers, first, RE second, Tradesman third.

I could've added my comments to the B1 thread that is currently going on, http://www.arrse.co.uk/cpgn2/Forums/viewtopic/t=11694/start=45.html
however i didn't want to take that one off at a tangent.

I was, Class one clerk, sect 2IC, G2 busy body, Phot.........Stag ON! It was fun too.

would never let a tankie near a cbt engr task they may mistake the sandbags for oversized cornish pasties :thumleft: :thumright: :thumleft: :thumright:

I was a combat engineer through and through so didnt bother me if I was tasked with infantry style work like I was on a couple of occasions in NI. But as you said Holdfast, soldier first, engineer second, tradesman third. :thumleft:

A_Knocker_Till_The_End said:
would never let a tankie near a cbt engr task they may mistake the sandbags for oversized cornish pasties :thumleft: :thumright: :thumleft: :thumright:
Very funny Knocker, quite correct :thumright:

However this time I'm taking a real situation. I'll PM you with the details and let you decide.

Holdfast,

When I was in Kandahar, there was an opportunity to go out to the Tarnak Farms ranges with the Canadian PRT patrols company, and fire LAW (66mm), M203s, GPMG's and HMG's. We were not allowed however, as it was too dangerous to leave the wire......... :frustrated:

how embarrassing was that.

hurrahfortheRE said:
Holdfast said:
Especially when we are, were, told that we are Soldiers, first, RE second, Tradesman third.