Are multi blade razors a pain in the neck

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by re-stilly, Apr 24, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been using a 5 blade razor for a few months and have found it left me sore as buggery, so gone back to a 2 blade one and the shave is better and no fiery after burn. I am even contemplating going back to the old flat blade razor.

Am I being an over-sensitive metrosexual, or are the multiblade ones causing more problems?

2. Never moved past 2 blade ones myself.... nice smooth shave no burning

Personally I think this "re-inventing" of the razor with ever more blades is just a money spinning thing

3. Grumblegrunt

Grumblegrunt LE Book Reviewer

no the multiblade ones are just gimmicky and massively expensive. I've never liked the shave and the price even less.

still nowt is as bad as the old bic single disposible which tore your face off.

• Like Like x 1
  4. I ditched multi bladed shaving a few years back, each year a new razor was needed as they no longer made the blades leaving me with a draw full of useless razors, so now I am using the same type of safety razor I started out shaving with 35 odd years ago.

Find it better and cheaper.

• Like Like x 3
  5. Gillette blue 2+ for me. All the best features you need on a razor. No more no less. Sharp as **** and cheap as chips.

6. I used to use those things, got sick of them clogging up and costing a fortune.

I've now been using a Merkur Futur for years with Feather blades, cost is about £15 a year in blades and you can have it tight and close or softer and more forgiving for those 'difficult' mornings.

• Like Like x 2
  7. Transfer to become a master farrier and then grow a beard. Jobbed.

If this top tip proves to be less that useful, accept my apologies in advance!