Are corps mixed during basic training?

Discussion in 'Seniors' started by ILES, Nov 28, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am going for basic in the next few months at ATR Pirbright having passed selection, so I am wondering whether Ill be with fellow RLC recruits or mixed between signals, reme, engineers etc? any feedback will be much appreciated. Thankyou in advance.
  2. If it was same as my day you'll have a platoon full of RLC, there might be the odd bod from REME if they only have a few on the intake date.
  3. Why is this in the Seniors Forum?
  4. Being a newbie I was unsure where to post my thread. I looked for a relevant place to ask my question and assumed senior meant adult entry I now stand corrected from your helpful response and will delete my thread if it makes you feel better?
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Merely asking a question, no need to be petulant
  6. You will have a platton full of RLC but through the course of traning you might get the odd back trooper who cold be any cap badge. I went through traning with the RE by the time we passed out we had 2 fusilers and an anglian with us.
  7. If its in Pirbright (This is going back 16 years) The Artillery, REME and RLC start off with their own troops but backsquadding means you can end up with a mix. Only the Guards had their own platoons, which is a bit of pain in the arse because if they get backsquadded it was to a platoon 8 weeks behind. (everyone else is 1 or 2 weeks).
    • Like Like x 1
  8. The only definitive answer is, you'll find out when you get there.

Chances are you'll be in an all RLC/RLC heavy mix, but if other Corps need to get blokes through they can be mixed in. As can you. You could (slim chance) find yourself as the only Loggie in a RE Plt for example.