Archbishop of York to parachute to rasie funds for Forces

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Infiltrator, May 27, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good man. I don't mind anyone being anti war as long as it doesn't go hand in hand with anti military.

He obviously has the courage of his convictions by continuing to speak out against the wars and yet at the same time shows great morale fibre by supporting our troops.

Hats off to the man, he'll get my sponsorship.
  2. He knows the Holy parachute is in the sideboard behind the Holy Hand grenade of Antioch
  3. Seems a top bloke. Someone so high profile should manage to get a fair sum. Shame that the people in government who actually supported the war have done nothing except cut the funding for the armed forces.

As a financially deprived student I'm limited in what I can give (I'll do something though), but I did send him a message of support through his website.
  4. Dr Sentamu is most definitely NOT anti-Forces. Rather a lot of Service people sat through one of his sermons a few years ago at Birmingham Cathedral where his praise of the Armed Forces and the difficult job they are called on to do, was praised in very fulsome fashion.

Good man.
  5. Legend. Pure legend.
  6. msr

msr LE

He has also come up with the elegantly simple idea that for every new law the government passes, they should strike one old one from the statue books.

More on the jump here:

7. Good drills all round then. Thats a great idea, but sadly not really possible to apply.

Turns out that if you message the guy, you get a reply from his office pretty sharpish. Message replied to this morning before normal office hours.
  8. Well done Dr Sentamu.

A man with physical courage and moral integrity - he'll never be a politician.