Applying to the Army Legal Service as a Barrister

Hi All,

Hope someone can shed some light as I don't seem to be getting any straight answers from Army recruiters and recruiters specific to professionally qualified officers (PQO) entry.

I have 6 years military experience, but left to study at university. I'm currently in my final year of a Law degree and looking at applying to the ALS after completing the Bar course and Pupillage.

My question is - why would any chambers offer me a pupillage within their set if they knew I had no desire for tenancy? The Army don't offer a pupillage scheme and I'm struggling to understand why a chambers on civilian street would invest a lot of time and money into me, if at the end of the pupillage I was going to jump ship to the forces.

Any information anyone might have on this would be greatly appreciated!

Sam

Have you enquired what the expected return (time) is with a chambers?

Speak to your tutor, they may be able to offer some guidance.

How are you funding your LPC?

I think most sets of chambers nowadays will only offer a pupillage "with a view to tenancy". All pupillages are funded nowadays - so the chambers guarantees a minimum income to the pupil for his/her year of pupillage. A pupil cannot take on cases in his/her own right in his/her first six months as a pupil, so all funding for that comes directly from chambers. Given that all barristers in independent practice are self employed, what that means is that those self employed practitioners are paying part of their own earnings in to chambers to fund the pupil's pupillage. So you are quite right - why on earth would they do that if they did not have a reasonable expectation that the pupil will complete pupillage, become a tenant and begin contributing to the success of chambers thereafter?

Fake Sheikh

War Hero
Obviously the stream you decide on ie Criminal/Family etc will be looked on better than say Real Estate.
It might be worth contacting the ALS and ask them?