Anyone serve in Suffolk/Lenadoon/Woodbourne 1969-1996?

Hi guys, I'm new to arrse (never too old I hear) and am history gathering. I'm originally from the Suffolk estate (orange Suffolk as per the tribal maps) and first off, want to thank all the ex servicemen who put themselves at risk of loss of life and limb in helping to secure the area I grew up in. The dedication and professionalism rubbed off and inspired me and I joined the British Army (3 RIR). Left 1999. I'd really appreciate stories, any war pics of the estate (identity withheld and can be pixelated). Happy to answer any private message queries too. God bless

Good lad! 93- last guys to do anything pre ceasefire up here. There was a mk16 strike on the Suffolk road around that time too. Ive some cracking video footage of the first actions there in 1971/72 and 1988...maybe some 93/94. Private message me and I'll sort you out with my FB if you want a copy. Thanks for your service on behalf of all the residents!

Woodburne in 1986, Op Widgeon. Great tour. As I understand it, the RUC/SF station is long gone.

Or maybe not, having a quick look at google maps. Its near as dammit 30 years to the week that we came back, so memory is a bit faded, but the place looks very much the same. Changed a LOT - the car park at the rear was where we built the "Widgeons" providing protection against Mk10 mortars, and the r/h side (or bottom r/h end), near the B102, was where we built "sapper lodge" (our accommodation). Have some piccies somewhere

Woodburn1.jpg

This is looking "north" towards Woodburn Crescent - on googlemaps, there is a white van just just about where the firehose was...

Sapper Lodge.jpg

View from the other direction, bottom of steps just visible in the first picture. This now appears to be a small building. God, I looked young then. Heck, I *was* young then!

speedy.jpg