Anyone remember this?

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by ugly, Apr 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. ugly

ugly LE Moderator

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I'm pretty sure this is an early SUIT due to the range adjusting lever in the last pic by my thumb being really flimsy. I dodged out of carrying mine in a rifle coy in Belfast and no one asked me too whilst in COP so I have limited experience with this beyond training!

2. dastards, they never issued me witha carry pouch like the one falshy posted.... or was thata remf std issue bit-o-kit??
    feeling older by the minuite!

3. Yes but did they issue the warning " Any breakage must be reported immediately" or you get cancer and your balls get to look like wallnuts?

4. We had to buy them when they first came out! I suppose the first ever bit of 'gucci' kit.

5. Cutaway

Cutaway LE Reviewer

A shithousefull of SUITs were flogged off to the Septic commercial market a few years back, after having the Trilux source removed.
    The 'official' end users installed a battery powered LED unit instead, due partly to the Spam laws on radioactive devices but also simplicity of replacement.

Strangely a large number of these SUITs emerged in Israel with a M16 mount & a new cam for the 5.56 rd.
    As far as I have been able to ascertain there were no direct exports of these sights from the UK to IMI, so there might just be a grain of truth in the rumour that the US has supported Israel.

6. I used to have one of those pouches on my 58 set when I was an army cadet. Never knew what it was for until now

Someone told me that the pointer was inverted because as you fired the muzzle rose and you could see your bullets ripping into the squidgy human target better.....Niiice! :twisted:

Ugly - You didnt get the sight from a purveyor in Polegate perchance? :wink: