Anyone got experience of usinf Cree/LED light bulbs?

Discussion in 'Cars, Bikes 'n AFVs' started by brettarider, Oct 19, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. brettarider

brettarider On ROPs

2. Grumblegrunt

Grumblegrunt LE Book Reviewer

if they are as good as the ones on the torch I picked up then it should be worth doing. cheap enough as well

3. I have been using LED lighting on my bike for a couple of years as it draws less power and being a solid state component, its more reliable.

The rear tail-light is one of those multi-LED jobbies from Halfords and has worked flawlessly.

The Indicators are complete replacement multi-led boards that sit within the bikes original indicators, the reason that I do not use LED bulbs as a direct swap is that they make your indicators flash faster unless you wire in a resistor ( boards have them built in )

For the front of the bike I use x-vision auxillary LED lights, one lowbeam/widespread and the other highbeam/spotlight and they are incredibly effective.

From my own experience and from other riders who have tried them, the LED replacement headlight bulbs are utter rubbish.....they do not produce the brightness needed or just seem unable to provide a full spread of light.However, if those bulbs are that cheap...give them a go and see if they have improved recently.

4. brettarider

brettarider On ROPs

5. I may be wrong, but I was led to believe that HID Conversions are illegal, unless you have auto-levelling headlamps, with washer jets.