Any room for a tree surgen

Hi , i v got one year left to go before i have a national diploma in Arboricultre ( tree surgary ) anyway i want to know if i join the RE will i be able to use my trade in the army ? i hear the MOD give out contracts out to private firms to do there tree work, why not use people like me ?

(editied REME to RE )

redrat said:
Hi , i v got one year left to go before i have a national diploma in Arboricultre ( tree surgary ) anyway i want to know if i join the REME will i be able to use my trade in the army ? i hear the MOD give out contracts out to private firms to do there tree work, why not use people like me ?
1. Sappers aren't REME.
2. Sappers do tree surgery rather differently to the methods you've been taught.
3. Despite this, you sound like you're fun. Join.

redrat said:
well if they will not let me do my trade i ll join the Infantry , just seems a waste...
This is the same logic as:

"I've got an HGV licence, but they've only got vans, so I'll become a postman on roller skates."

Sappers cut down trees, better than any other branch of the Army, but don't necessarily do it neatly, nor with a view to improving the growth of the tree. The infantry hide behind trees. Which is most appropriate to your qualification?

putteesinmyhands said:
Sappers cut down trees, better than any other branch of the Army, but don't necessarily do it neatly, nor with a view to improving the growth of the tree. The infantry hide behind trees. Which is most appropriate to your qualification?

:lol:

I mostly ran into trees with the 432 or Spartan. Plenty of scope for a bit of surgery there. :D

sprjim said:
Did anyone do tree hugging in training? Horrible.
I found tree-hugging strangely therapeutic and calming..... usually because I was 30ft off the ground at the time with only my grip on the tree keeping me from falling!

Litotes