any ideas what knocked this tank out..... not a very big hol

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by scouse_security, May 11, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. /www.arrse.co.uk/cpgn2/coppermine/displayimage/meta=lastalb/cat=2/pos=2.html

2. Sabot round?

3. didnt know a sabot left such a small hole. thourght it would be a bit bigger like......... could very well be thou

4. I'm not an expert on these things, but the shape of the wound suggests either that a scab has come off the outside (indicating that this is an exit wound) or a hole has been pushed through the armour following an initial explosion on the surface. I tend toward the exit wound, suggesting that an AP round of some sort has cooked off inside the tank.

5. oppppppppps bet they want that to happen. any way tar lads i was just woundering ....

6. In my experience, sabot often leaves very neat and tidy holes in armour; it's generally a very clean kill. I'm not discounting Putteesinmyhand exit wound theory, but I am wondering if it's not a hit with a tank round, but some kind of a GW long rod penetrator hit. Either way, it certainly the kind of thing viewed best from the outside and with hindsight.

I'll ask my mate Gunners for an expert opinion.

7. thanks m8. could it be a round from an A10, u have gopt me thinking now

8. The scarring around the hole suggests that it was a HEAT round. The larger damage was probably caused by over-pressure being forced back out of the entry hole.

9. It's been caused by a fin round going in. The insides will look dreadful. It's not A10 strike - they leave very different holes in weak armour like this.

10. thank you DD. lol just been reading about the faceparty walts lmfao

11. Hi S_S,

I've just heard from my mate whose opinion is that it's the result of a hit by a HEAT round.

"It's certainly not any main armament round we'd use.