Another MPGS thread!

Discussion in 'AGC, RAPTC and SASC' started by RFUK, Oct 30, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apologies for adding to the already numerous MPGS threads on the site, but I had a few questions.

I'm a 21 year old TA inf. lance jack. I've been in just short of 5 years and done several tours. I'm hoping the MPGS will be a good move because:

- It will cover my rent!
    - It will give me time to study
    - I'm a retained firefighter, and having several days off at a time will allow me to continue with this (extra 2 grand a year and 10 quid an hour for callouts)

I just have a few questions which I hope someone can answer:

- How exactly do the shifts work? (I've heard 4 on, 4 off. Is this correct? What kind of stag rotor operates during the 4 on?)

- What's the crack with promotion? From what I can work out, I'd start as a private and hope to get promoted.

- My local AFCO have told me the guy I need to speak to is away until December so I should read a leaflet and come back then (!). I tried the online careers office, but they were even less use, and the phone number (01962887113) i have from the MPGS leaflet just rings out. Anyone got any ideas where I should go next?
  2. 4 on 4 off all through the year.

Promotion is on merit (it helps being a senior rank and so does arrse licking) everyone starts as a private.

Pay is so so but you can earn extra on days off with little jobs - only ones not allowed are bar and security work.

You get SLC and ELC so thats a bonus.

You may have to move for promotion and it could pay the rent (you will get roughtly 800 to 900£ in your sky rocket a month in your first year). I get 1200 after 3 years now.

I am not sure about the retained FF thing - I know we cannot be specials and I am sure that goes for FF as well!!!!