ANA (Afghan National Army): How do they measure up?

Discussion in 'Afghanistan' started by NEWater, Dec 26, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey all,

I'm a college student from Singapore doing International Studies conc. Intelligence & Security. Did my mandatory two years in the Army here like every other bloke and was Signals in armour brigade staff.

There was a discussion of counter-insurgency in class some time ago, and we all talked about how COIN flopped in 'Nam mostly because of a lacklustre indigenous force in the ARVN, and a mostly worthless and corrupt local government.

Then we looked at A-stan and saw some parallels in terms of worthless government, but I'm not too sure about the ANA. On paper they appear decently equipped, but how do they perform in the field? Does anyone who has worked with them think that they'll be up to the task?

2. They're up to the task whilst working alongside NATO troops. Once they have to stand on their own two feet the taliban will destroy them. Even NATO troops can't beat the taliban so what chance have the ANSF?

3. How do you measure.

Do the average Afghans even want the country we call Afganistan to be viable.

4. I didn't rate them too much on H4, however, the Hazara tribes men were very good soldiers.

5. They've come on a long way from H4 though without NATO troops and support they will fold very quickly.

6. So what you are saying, is that Afghanistan has no future.

Well, not as a nation we would know as Afghanistan.

Is there any solution.

Is there any hope?

7. There is a possibility of the ANA holding onto some parts, but not Helmand.