An Alternative to the BCU / Welsh Canoe Association?

Discussion in 'Sports, Adventure Training and Events' started by onfire, Feb 4, 2007.

?
  1. Yes - to cover Instructor Awards and Access

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes - to cover Instructor Awards

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes - to cover Access Campaigns

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. No - get a grip fool!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Do I give a sh1t?!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. How do you start a question of this complexity?

Ive been paddling for nearly 10 years, and have been a member of the WCA / BCU for 4 of those i suppose. To start though, i think i should be clear: there is a difference between the BCU and the WCA - although they operate the same award and coaching schemes, their set-up and approach to events and issues is markedly different.

There are two major issues which i find hard to understand: 1. Access and 2. Coaching Awards.

1. Access - through Law there is only access to 2% of the inland water in England and Wales (www.riversaccess.org/pages/pv.asp?p=rac18&v=0&fsize=0) and although there is an active river access campaign, supported by the BCU, there is a startling lack of access campaigning in Wales.